Arcipelago Italia wins the European Design Awards 2019

20 Jun 2019

1 min

Arcipelago Italia. Progetti per il futuro dei territori interni del Paese”, the catalogue of Italian Pavilion curated of Mario Cucinella at the Biennale Architettura 2018, wins the European Design Award Bronze 2019.

The European Design Awards, (ED-Awards), are annual awards given to European designers for their outstanding work in the field of communication design. With a total of 40 available categories, the ED-Awards are the most prestigious and comprehensive awards organisation to recognise and promote the best visual communication work on the continent.

The catalogue of the Italian Pavilion at the Biennale Architettura 2018, curated by ZUP Design, is an editorial project that shifts architecture’s attention away from the major cities and over to the physical space of our country where, even in the remotest of times, communities are historically expressed in a different relationship between urban dimension and territory.
These territories are spatially and temporally distant from the large urban areas, and they possess an inestimable cultural heritage, so that Italy is identified as an “urban space in the Mediterranean”. The heterogeneous cultural vastness of these territories, reflected in the diversification of their landscape, together with a vast territorial expanse and their distance from essential services, has encouraged us to consider their revival as a strategic theme for Italy as a whole. The catalogue includes the design of maps, infographics, promotional posters and explores and covers eight itineraries on the Italian territory showing the most significant examples of contemporary architecture aimed at improving the life of local communities.

The ED-Awards is an initiative managed by critics, journalists and publishers of the leading graphic design magazines in Europe, and approved by the International Design Council. It represents an important international recognition.

Related News

All our News

Get in touch

Copyright 2023 MCA.